Day to Day Struggles


As my son has started grade one this year he has had to get used to full days of school and no more transition groups to assist him. It was a very tough start for him, the first day of school he didn’t want to get on the bus, got up in the middle of class and yelled “I hate school”, and then to top it all off was put on the wrong school bus at the end of the day. Needless to say it was a fun filled entertaining day!!
Since then there have been good and bad days with school and when it comes to a change in routine or schedule this is expected. To cope with this the best solution was to make the morning as routine as possible. If the morning goes off without a hitch he has a great day, if there are challenges in the morning he has a bad day.
When he was first diagnosed, we had no eye contact, no real communication (just random words mainly from Diego). He is now fun loving and a joy to play with, yes he is a little different sometimes and may seem a little immature compared to his peers but he still has a blast and most kids don’t seem to shy away from him (of course some do but in my humble opinion that is their loss).
When I first found out that I was going to have a son I thought to myself how he would play hockey, softball, soccer, basketball, and any other sport under the sun. I had a vision of my boy being the guy that everyone liked and the boy knocking the ladies off with a stick (just like his dad 🙂 ). Once he was diagnosed all those dreams I had for my son seemed to come crashing down and I had a really hard time coming to terms with that. I didn’t know much about Autism and the natural instinct was to fear the worst. I really think that men and women deal with things differently, his mom talked to friends openly and came to terms with it while I bottled it up inside and for a while there shut down.
After some time I did come to accept the diagnosis and eventually I started to see that it is not the end of the world. With a lot of hard work and a tonne of stress I actually got to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I have watched my son go from a distant person to a loving little boy who loves his mom, dad, and little sister. A little boy that loves to go outside and play and little boy that loves to give hugs, he may not be trying out for the all-star team this year but he will always be my all-star!!
The day to day stresses are far out-weighed by the joy in my humble opinion and believe me I have had more curve balls thrown at me than some major league baseball players over the past few years.

Leave a Reply

