Oh Daughters


So I have been spending the majority of this blog sharing experiences about my son, life in general, and sometimes both of my kids.  This time around I wanted to dedicate something to my amazing little girl, she is my pride and joy (as well as my son) but she also scares me half to death.

 

I am not sure about the differences in girls and boys but I am certainly learning as I go.  My daughter is 4 years old and I like to say that she will be turning 16 on her next birthday.  She is so sharp and catches onto things so fast it is scary, hence I am scared to death.  For dads dealing with a son is pretty easy, you play sports with them and when they fall down they get right back up because they are supposed to be tough.  Little girls on the other hand are daddy’s little angels and in most cases they know it!!  My daughter is no different, she is absolutely beautiful and the most beautiful little girl in the world in my opinion.  The problem with this is she knows it and she knows she has daddy wrapped around her little finger, no matter how many times I deny it to her LOL!!

 

So for all the dads out there I wonder if you are all in the same boat as me.  I think we are all the same way with our daughters and no matter what happens as they get older they will always be daddy’s little girl.  As they get older they will most likely fight with dad a lot more once boys enter the picture, I sincerely hope that my daughter will forgive me the first time a boy comes to the door and I put the fear of God into him!!  I also hope she is ok with it every other time a boy comes to the door in general!!  

 

Maybe I will relax about these types of things as I get older but as I mentioned before our daughters are our little angels and as their fathers we are supposed to be their protector, friend, and the person they turn to when they need that big hug or shoulder to cry on.  Of course these are roles that all dads should be proud to take on with moms as well, but that protector role seems to be meant for dads.  I remember in my teens when I started dating girls running into those over protective dads and how we feared them and sometimes made fun of them (when they were nowhere nearby of course).  I remember how embarrassed the girls were about their crazy dad, and how their dad’s made seeing boys very challenging to say the least.  Back then I wondered why these dads were like this, and who would have thought it but 20 years later I have visions of myself turning into that dad!!  Oh well I guess the old saying is what goes around comes around!!

 

I just hope that as the years go by that my daughter knows how much her dad loves her and how amazing, beautiful, smart, funny, and great she is.  Part of my job is to constantly remind her of that and I am more than happy to take on that task because as I said before no matter how old she is or what she does she will always be my beautiful little angel.

 

All the best

 

By the way I will be writing another blog shortly as a contributor for parental advice in the Ottawa area.  My first post is in and the site will be going live on September 10th.  I will post the link as soon as it is up and running.

Leave a Reply

